CHICHOLOGY

A Look Into My World

Paralyzed Ring Finger July 9, 2009

Filed under: finger experiment,paralyzed,ring finger — Kristen @ 5:38 am

I was on Yahoo! Answers today, and came across and interesting question: Why can’t you lift your ring finger straight up like your other fingers… it only goes halfway? So I tried it. I held my hand up and made a fist, and then tried to put each finger up. The only way I could get my ring finger to go all the way up was if I raised my pinky with it. Then I came across another experiment, which I’m sure many of you have tried it already. Here’s what you do: Bend your middle finger and place the center section on a table or hard surface (like the picture is showing to the right). Now try to lift your thumb, index, and pinky without moving your middle finger. That wasn’t hard, was it? Now try lifting your ring finger! I found it is impossible to lift your ring finger, and after trying for a bit, my hand was sore.

So why does your hand work this way? Cuz’ it doesn’t like you? No. I did find the answer at Science Made Simple. It says:

The tendons in your fingers are independent from one another apart from the ones in your middle and ring finger. These tendons are connected, so that when your middle finger is folded down you cannot move your ring finger. It feels like your ring finger is stuck!

I found that interesting, and thought I’d pass it on. Again, you learn something new everyday!

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.